Meet the Candidates – Senator Ed Markey (D-MA)

 In 2020 Election, Congress, democracy, Election 2020, Nuclear Weapons, Peace Voter 2020, Senate, Uncategorized

Despite all the unpredictability this year has presented us with, one thing remains certain: this election will be the most important in our lifetime. Please join us in the launching of our “Meet the Candidates” series to hear from, engage with, and ask questions of the peace champions we are supporting this cycle.

Next Wednesday, August 5th at 7:30 pm Eastern, Peace Action is honored to kick off our new series of webinars with Senator Ed Markey (D-MA). Register to join him in conversation.

Sen. Markey has provided steadfast leadership on issues of peace and justice and has been among our strongest allies in Congress. Wednesday, August 5th at 7:30 pm Eastern, you will get a chance to hear from him and pose your questions as he joins us live.

Senator Edward J. Markey, a long-time advocate for nuclear arms control and nonproliferation, has stepped up to introduce countless pieces of legislation over the years to change the dangerous nuclear policies of the U.S. and cut funding from an unnecessary new arms race — including his Smarter Approaches to Nuclear Expenditures (SANE) Act, which seeks to make substantial cuts to the bloated nuclear weapons upgrade program set to cost taxpayers $1.7 trillion. We’re also rather fond of it as it’s named after our founding organization Committee for a SANE Nuclear Policy. You can donate to his campaign here.

When: Wednesday, August 5th 7:30pm ET / 6:60pm CT / 5:30pm MT / 4:30pm PT

Where: Please Register to Join Us on Zoom and pose questions to the Senator

If registration fills up, you can still join us via Facebook Livestream.

Hope to see you there!

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Start typing and press Enter to search